Complain, Complain, Complain

I recently started my spring semester of my junior year, and guess what the one thing is that has happened the most within the past 4 days? Complaints. Not weird at all, right? Right. I wanted to write about this word because it’s more than just complaining; it solely becomes a habit. So here goes the thoughts of a 21 year old about an eight letter word. Hold on tight…

Let’s ask one of the oh-so-obvious questions: Why do people complain? If you are like myself, I complain because I’m not perfect (nor is life), and that drives me crazy. I complain because maybe, just maybe, it will make things better, but in reality does it really make things better? Ha, nope! I sure wish it did because life would be so much simpler. Another reason is to avoid responsibility. I know there are tons of other reasons as to why other people complain, but I will just stick to the few that I have recently mentioned.

This is my third semester of being an engineering major, and boy have I learned a ton of things during that. Before I was an engineering major, I was an Exercise Science/Pre-Physical Therapy major. While I was an Exercise Science major, things were easy, and I was used to that, but when I switched to Engineering, things changed, and boy did I start complaining more and more.

We have all seen that life isn’t perfect; it never has, and it never will be. So if life isn’t perfect and never will be, why do we complain about its imperfections? This has been a question that I have struggled to answer for a while, and I am not quite sure if I know the answer now; if you’re expecting me to answer that question, please don’t hold me to it!

Dictionary.com defines the word ‘complain’ as, “to express dissatisfaction, pain, uneasiness,censure, resentment, or grief; find fault;” and “to grumble, growl, whine are terms for expressing dissatisfaction or discomfort.”

The word “grumble” really make sense in this way because I remember my first year of church camp and my senior year Spring Break. The camp director, Spencer Furby, made us all recite Philipians 2:14 every single day of camp, and the same guy also made us recite this verse as we were climbing the Smoky Mountains in March…in the snow.

Do everything without grumbling or complaining

All of our excuses as to when we got done hiking in the mountains and getting back to the warm cabin was, “that wasn’t a complaint; that was a statement.” Is there a difference? Yes, I think so, but we often fail to see the difference.

The main reason why I wanted to write something about this word was because of my new job. I work at Kroger, and I am a cashier (it is hard to type this with positive thoughts, but I will succeed!). At Kroger, there are baggers who bag the groceries. One of the things that cashiers tend to ask their customers are, “How are you today?” “Did you find everything okay?” Most customers will say how he or she is, and then ask the same question back to us. I recently heard one of the baggers that I was working with answer this question, and it stood out to me like a bag of bread in the middle of a snow/ice storm (specifically 2009 Ice Storm). The bagger answered with, “I could be worse. It could always be worse. It wouldn’t do me any good to complain.

BOOM. Mind blown!!! What college student do you know would actually say this? Because ha, I don’t think I would have ever thought to say that last sentence…but it goes way beyond the truth. Back to my original question, why do we complain of the imperfections of life when we know for sure that life cannot be perfect? I don’t think there is a valid answer for that, but I do know that it isn’t going to do me any good to complain.

As school starts back, or already has for must of us, be mindful of that sentence. It will go a long way, trust me. I’ll be sure to keep that in my mind at all times. So Facebook friends, I’m watching you…

 

We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses. -Abraham Lincoln

 

Leave a Reply

