Negatives and Positives

As I left my home for a week of church camp, my friend and I stopped at Walmart to pick a few things up. My friend had to get snacks, and I was constantly telling her to hurry up because I was so excited for camp. I could not wait to get there! I was beyond ready for the wonderful week that we call “Spencer Furby Week.”

As we arrived at camp, you could see my face glowing. It was the place that I loved to be at. It was God’s wonderful creation, and I was there with people that I loved. It is, by far, my favorite week of the summer. You have to be crazy to not love church camp! Let me explain to you why…

Every single morning before breakfast, the camp director, Spencer, makes the kids line up in their four teams that were assigned to them. Their job for the morning is to say a memory verse together, say a prayer, sing “This Is The Day,” form some crazy letter/shape/object, and do exercises (which, yours truly is in charge of 🙂).

On Wednesday morning, I was put in charge of driving the Swagger Wagon to and from the fishing pond with a team. I was one of the counselors that was to stay with the kids at the pond and watch them fish. We did not do fishing last year, but Spencer decided to bring it back; I think it was a good decision, even though only one fish was caught.

I stayed at the pond for maybe about 2.5 hours, if that. It was not sunny, but it was hot! I have never been much of a fishing person, and it was just a little boring standing out there watching absolutely nothing happen, but I did love it.

On the way back to the church camp from the pond, I was the first Swagger Wagon to leave, so I was in charge of opening the Olive Farm gate, which just so happened to be made of barbed-wire. I sent the same friend from Walmart out to open the gate, and knowing her, I could have bet money that the gate was not going to get open anytime soon. She looked back at me and gave me “the look,” and I knew exactly what she was thinking. I stepped out of my Swagger Wagon driver seat, walked to her, gave her “the look” right back, and I started messing with the gate. I couldn’t get it open either, but knowing myself, I knew I was not going to give up until I did it!

I tried to tug at the big block of wood that was jammed into the barbed-wire – nope. Couldn’t get it. I then tugged at the barbed-wire that was surrounding the big block of wood, and BAM. The next thing I know, my sunglasses were slung to the side of my face, and I hear my friend chuckling in the background asking, “Did it hit you?!” I said, “Oops,” and started laughing with her. She grabbed me and told me I was bleeding, but I just kept going. Nothing was bringing me down – it was just a little scratch.

I jumped back into the Swagger Wagon, and I hear one of the adult counselors acting just like my mom – “Are you okay?!” “Amy, you are bleeding!” “Amy, you need to stop!” ….. Yes, mom, I am fine. I continued to drive the bus and jammed out to one of the best songs: American Woman.

My Swagger Wagon arrived back at camp, and all the kids shuffled out of it for lunch. I went inside and showed my mom my accident, and what do ya know? Freak machine!!!! Ahhh, yes, mom. Before I knew it, I was driving my car to NEA Urgent Care. Yay me, I thought. Way to go, Amy.

As soon as I left the church camp, my thoughts, feelings, happiness – it all left. I am pretty sure my mom could tell, too.  I will admit that the accident did not hurt me physically, but it hurt me emotionally, and I think that’s worse. We drove into the NEA parking lot, and we were told that the doctors were at lunch. I turned to my mom and said, “Can we go back to camp?” Of course you can all guess what her answer was. camp2

About 2 hours later, I was back at church camp. I ran down into the girls cabin and yelled, “I’m back!!!!” All the girls surrounded me, gave me hugs, asked what happened – basically, the girls did anything and everything to make sure that I knew that I was missed.

In my eyes (or almost one in this case), I think my accident was a way of God telling me that I needed to be more joyful of the day and that I needed to show the campers how negatives, or boo-boo’s, can be turned into positives.11536030_10207359124362935_7293193283839748980_n

A lot of the times, something bad happens to us, and out first thought is to let it ruin our day, or someone else’s day. My main goal of this barbed-wire fence accident was to show the campers that when something gets you down, you stand right back up. As Christians, we face this a lot. We will constantly have someone telling us we can’t do this, we are wrong, we are too young, we are not good enough – just anything to bring us down. But our job as Christians is to stand up, be the Light, and carry on – even bigger than before. You show those “haters” that you are capable of doing anything that you set your heart and mind to.

My negative was turned into a positive by never letting the campers see a frown on my face. After I got my bandages and everything, I was smiling, and boy was it a real smile, too. 😀

 camp  

A bad thing is never a bad thing when you have God. 

camp3

Leave a Reply

